• Homeschool statute: Parents must file one-time notice with the local superintendent and must provide instruction in English, reading, composition, writing, mathematics, science, social studies, history, geography, economics, and government. There are no parent qualifications, instruction time, bookkeeping, or assessment requirements.

Homeschool Statute

A homeschooled child is “a child who receives instruction at home and who is exempt from compulsory attendance.” See Nev. Rev. Stat. § 385.007(5). A child may be homeschooled by a parent, custodial parent, legal guardian, or other person who has control of the child and the legal right to direct the child’s education. 

Within 10 days after withdrawing a child from public school, or within 30 days of establishing residency in the state, the parent must file a notice of intent to homeschool with the local superintendent using a form developed by the Department of Education and made available by local school districts. This notice of intent must include (a) the name, age, and gender of the child; (b) the name and address of each parent filing the notice of intent to homeschool; (c) a statement signed and dated by each such parent declaring that the parent has full control or charge of the child and the legal right to direct the child’s education and assumes full responsibility of said education; and (d) an educational plan for each child. If the notice of intent is complete, the school district will provide a written acknowledgement that will serve as proof that the child is being legally homeschooled. If the name or address of the parent or child changes from that indicated on the notice of intent, the parent of a child must file a new notice of intent no later than 30 days after the change. See Nev. Rev. Stat. § 388D.020(1)-(7). Under Nevada law, a “parent” means a parent, custodial parent, legal guardian or other person who has control or charge of a child and the legal right to direct the education of the child.

In only the single year that a parent must submit a notice of intent to homeschool, the parent must prepare an educational plan of instruction for each child covering “English language arts, mathematics, science and social studies, including history, geography, economics and government as appropriate for the age and level of skill of the child as determined by the parent.” Not every subject must be taught each year. See Nev. Rev. Stat. § 388D.050.




(1) “A school or organization shall not discriminate in any manner against a child who is or was homeschooled.” See Nev. Rev. Stat. § 388D.040(2)(2) “No regulation or policy of the State Board, any school district or any other governmental entity may infringe upon the right of a parent to educate his or her child based on religious preference unless it is: (1) Essential to further a compelling governmental interest; and (2) The least restrictive means of furthering that compelling governmental interest.” See  Nev. Rev. Stat. § 388D.060.

Services Available to Homeschooled Students

“Each school district shall allow homeschooled children to participate in all college entrance examinations offered in this State, including, without limitation, the SAT, the ACT, the Preliminary SAT and the National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test.” See Nev. Rev. Stat. § 388D.040(3).


Nevada’s homeschool law originally required annual notice, but that requirement was removed.


Here’s how to report educational neglect. Have you reported educational neglect in this state? Please tell us about your experience.

Nev. Rev. Stat. § 385.007

Nevada, International Center for Home Education Research

This overview is for informational purposes only and does not constitute the giving of legal advice. Last updated April 2023.

Skip to content