Action Needed: FL House Bill 1059

Representative Erin Grall in the Florida House of Representatives (R, District 54) has introduced a piece of legislation she is calling the “Parent’s Bill of Rights” (HB 1059). If enacted, this legislation would give parents “fundamental” and “inalienable” rights over their children regarding every area of their life– as just one example, it makes it a crime if a teacher does not out their trans student to their non-affirming parents if they attempt to socially transition at school. Rep. Grall’s “Parent’s Bill of Rights” would make what happened to Leelah Alcorn an inevitability in Florida.

When Leelah died, she begged us to “fix society, please.” Today is our chance to live up to her challenge because tomorrow, January 23, the “Parent’s Bill of Rights” is scheduled for a committee hearing at noon.

What you can do:

  • If you are a resident of Florida, please call the sponsor, Rep. Grall, your state representatives, and Education Committee members (their contact information is below). If a phone call is not your preferred method of contact, you can email the committee representatives.
  • If you are not a current resident of Florida but have experiences relevant to home education, being LGBT+, or child abuse and neglect that occured in Florida, please feel free to contact the Education Committee members and tell them your story and your concerns with this bill. 

When contacting legislators:

  • Always remember to be polite. Please remember to refer to representatives with their title and surname (ie, “Representative Smith”).
  • Listen, and be curious. Ask the representative for their perspective on the bill first– you might be surprised by what you learn! If they support HB 1059, see if you can persuade them or give them something to think about. If they oppose the bill, telling them your story can give them a helpful boost during the committee hearing tomorrow.

The Coalition for Responsible Home Education’s Concerns with HB 1059:

  • The language of giving parents “fundamental,” “inalienable,” and “unobstructed” rights in HB 1059 gives parents the authority to supersede the rights of their children, essentially eliminating children’s rights in Florida.
  • Parent’s rights should never be discussed in isolation from parent’s responsibilities, and children’s rights must always be balanced with parental responsibilities.
  • This bill enshrines parent’s authority and control into law without ever mentioning the rights of children to liberty, the pursuit of happiness, dignity, and their own conscience.
  • Children are not chattel: they are not “owned” by their parents. Children are no one’s property, to be treated or mistreated on the whim of another person.
  • If parents can direct their child’s education without “obstruction or interference,” what happens to children who aren’t educated? Who can’t even read?

Sponsor Rep. Erin Grall’s Contact Information:

Capitol Phone: 850-717-5054
District Office: 772-778-5005
Email: erin.grall@myfloridahouse.gov

Contact Information for Florida House Education Committee:

Name:Capitol Phone:District Phone:Email:
Jennifer Sullivan (R)850-717-5031352-742-6275jennifer.sullivan@myfloridahouse.gov
Chris Latvala (R)850-717-5067727-724-3000chris.latvala@myfloridahouse.gov
Bruce Antone (D)850-717-5046407-445-5313bruce.antone@myfloridahouse.gov
Vance Aloupis, Jr (R)850-717-5115305-270-6530vance.aloupis@myfloridahouse.gov
Thad Altman (R)850-717-5052321-425-6179thad.altman@myfloridahouse.gov
Dr. James Bush III (D)850-717-5109305-953-3086james.bush@myfloridahouse.gov
Cord Byrd (R)850-717-5011904-242-3495cord.byrd@myfloridahouse.gov
Kimberly Daniels (D)850-717-5014904-353-2134kimberly.daniels@myfloridahouse.gov
Byron Donalds (R)850-717-5080239-417-6270byron.donalds@myfloridahouse.gov
Elizabeth Fetterhoff (R)850-717-5026386-736-5187elizabeth.fetterhoff@myfloridahouse.gov
Randy Fine (R)850-717-5053321-409-2017randy.fine@myfloridahouse.gov
Delores Johnson (R)850-717-5084772-595-1391HoganJohnson.Dolores@myfloridahouse.gov
Amber Mariano (R)850-717-5036727-861-4806amber.mariano@myfloridahouse.gov
Dr. Ralph Masullo (R)850-717-5034352-527-4510ralph.massullo@myfloridahouse.gov
Daniel Perez (R)850-717-5116305-44-6800daniel.perez@myfloridahouse.gov
Latest posts by Kieryn Darkwater (see all)

Last Updated