- Homeschool statute: Parents must provide annual notice to the Superintendent of Education, have a high school diploma or its equivalent, and offer 180 days of instruction in reading, language arts, mathematics, social studies, and science. Parents must maintain immunization records, but there are no other bookkeeping requirements and there is no assessment requirement.
“‘Home school’ means the operation by the parent of a school-age person of a home study program of instruction that provides a basic academic educational program, including reading, language arts, mathematics, social studies and science.” See N.M. Stat. Ann. §§ 22-1-2(E) and 22-1-2.1.
|Notification:||Parents must notify the state superintendent within 30 days of establishing a homeschool. Parents must also notify the state superintendent by August 1st of each following year; this notice must identify the local school district. See N.M. Stat. Ann. § 22-1-2.1(A).|
|Qualifications:||Instruction must be provided by a person with at least a high school diploma or its equivalent. See N.M. Stat. Ann. § 22-1-2.1(C).|
|Days or hours:||180 days. See N.M. Stat. Ann. § 22-12-2(B). Minimum instructional hours:
half-day kindergarten – 1 1/2 hrs/day or 450 hrs/yr
grades k-6 – 5 1/2 hrs day or 990 hrs/yr
grades 7-12 – 6 hrs/day or 1080 hrs/yr
|Subjects:||Parents must provide “a basic academic educational program,” including reading, language arts, mathematics, social studies, and science. See N.M. Stat. Ann. § 22-1-2(E).|
|Bookkeeping:||Parents must maintain students’ immunization records. See N.M. Stat. Ann. § 22-1-2.1(B).|
Services Available to Homeschooled Students
|Part-time enrollment:||Yes, at the district’s discretion.|
|Other:||New Mexico has banned colleges from discriminating against homeschoolers. See N.M. Stat. Ann. § 21-1-1.1.|
New Mexico repealed its testing requirements for homeschoolers in 2001.
In August, 2018, the Public Education Department changed requirements for parents to register their children to be homeschooled. A group of parents and homeschooled children staged a protest because they felt the “PED” had overstepped its authority by requiring them to sign the new Statements of Understanding form that lists 11 responsibilities parents have when homeschooling their children. Parents felt that numerous unwarranted requirements were put on homeschool parents through the law, such as how many hours parents must spend teaching their students per day and per year in various grade levels. Those who’ve refused to sign the “SoUs” (as advised by HSLDA) haven’t been able to dual-enroll their child for classes at Central New Mexico Community College. New Mexico Education Secretary Christopher Ruszkowski replied with the following statement in response: Every family that has elected to homeschool their child will be receiving a registration number in the coming days so that they can continue on their educational journey—and we will continue to listen to feedback from parents.
This overview is for informational purposes only and does not constitute the giving of legal advice.