PLAN FOR SUCCESS

We’re excited to offer a new, eight-week online Introduction to Home Education course for homeschooling parents who are just getting started.

— Develop an individualized education plan for your child
— Choose and personalize your child’s curriculum
— Fulfill your state’s learning requirements
— Keep track of your progress and milestones

Along the way, we’ll be here to answer questions and brainstorm with you as the school year begins. We can’t wait to see you in class, and we’re excited for all you and your child will learn and do together!

Enroll Today!

Mississippi

  • Homeschool statute: Parents must file annual notice of intent to homeschool with the local school district and provide 180 days of instruction. There are no teacher qualification, subject, bookkeeping, or assessment requirements.

Homeschool Statute

Mississippi law states that a child may be educated in a “legitimate home instruction program.” A child may be homeschooled by a parent, guardian or custodian. For the full homeschool statute, see Mississippi Code Annotated § 37-13-91(3)(c).

Notification: Parents must submit a certificate of enrollment prepared by the Office of Compulsory School Attendance Enforcement of the State Department of Education to school attendance officer where the child resides by September 15th of each year. This certificate will ask parents to provide: (a) the name, address, telephone number, and date of birth of the child; (b) the name, address, and telephone number of the parent; (c) a simple description of the type of education the child is receiving; and (d) the signature of the parent. Should a parent enroll a child in public school at the beginning of the school year and then later withdraw the child and begin homeschooling, the parent may submit the certificate of enrollment at that later date.
Qualifications: None.
Days or hours: 180 days, “except that the ‘nonpublic’ school term shall be the number of days that each school shall require for promotion from grade to grade.” Home instruction programs are counted as nonpublic schools. See Miss. Code Ann. §§ 37-13-91(2)(e) and 37-13-91(2)(i).
Subjects: None.
Bookkeeping: None.
Assessment: None.
Intervention: (1) If a parent fails to submit the required certificate of enrollment, the school attendance officer will give the parent 10 days to submit certificate of enrollment. (2) Failure to educate is included in the state’s definition of neglect and may be reported to Mississippi’s Child Protective Services.
Other: n/a

Services Available to Homeschooled Students

Part-time enrollment: Yes, at the district’s discretion. 
Extracurriculars: Yes, at the district’s discretion. 
Disabilities: No. 
Other: n/a

Resources:

Here’s how to report educational neglect. Have you reported educational neglect in this state? Please tell us about your experience.

MS Code 37-13-91

Mississippi Code Annotated § 37-13-91 (Justia US Law)

Home Schooling, Mississippi Department of Education

Mississippi Homeschooling FAQs

Mississippi, International Center for Home Education Research

This overview is for informational purposes only and does not constitute the giving of legal advice.